For halloween I saved a place for a creepy book that would suit this holiday and I decided to go for  Frankenstein. I couldn’t be more dissapointed, I’m serious. I ruined my halloween reading joy.

Rating: doesn’t even deserve a 1 but I will give it 1/5.

If there is someone out there considering this book a masterpiece and an awesome classic, please convince me or just let me know what makes you think that.

I know I’m not a fan of classics or whatever but some of them are really good. I wanted to be freaked out by a story written in that classic old style. Something like Poe. But I just forced myself to finish it just because I wanted to give it a bad rating so people that are like me can find out some bad reviews too, not only the good words about it.

Besides the fact that the descriptions were awful, a paragraph written only about how the wind blows and how Frankenstein feels it, the story isn’t scary, man. It doesn’t have a drop of darkness in it that you can call “creepy”. Some crimes commited by the monster are not enough to make this book a horror one. Look at Stephen King, if he would’ve written it some crazy stuff would’ve happened. Not just deaths of people Frankenstein knew.

I appreciate Mary’s ambition to write a creepy book at 18 years old but this was so bad and awfully boring, I don’t even have words. It took me 5 days to finish it and it doesn’t even have 200 pages.

If you haven’t read it yet, you can go for it but embrace yourself for major boredom.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18490.Frankenstein?ac=1&from_search=true

2 thoughts on “Frankenstein is THE DOCTOR!

  1. Oh! I wasn’t expecting this (just like you probably weren’t) but I’m very glad to find out. Not that it was on my soon-to-read list, but now I know it most likely won’t get there…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

